If you have the required permissions, you can create a workflow to specify the process that end users will follow when they interact with assets in your system, for example adding, changing or editing an asset.
- Details: Workflow details, including name, description, and trigger type.
- Diagram: A graphical representation of the workflow, showing the activities at each step of the workflow. You can click an activity to view its details.
- Information: Workflow information, including creation date, and version publishing details.
- Versions: Lists all versions of the workflow. From here, you can view a diagram of a selected version and duplicate a selected version.
To confirm the object class and object type for a workflow, open the Diagram tab and select the Start activity.
- Ad-hoc request: Manage requests related to data access, data issues, or governance inquiries. These requests are reviewed by the responsible party to determine their validity.
- Change business term: Handle requests to modify a business term. The request is validated by the relevant person and, once approved, processed by the administrator.
- New business term: Process requests to add new business terms. Valid requests are reviewed by the responsible party and, if approved, added to the system by a data governance analyst.
Create a workflow
Build a new workflow by configuring trigger types, assignment IDs, object classes, and workflow activities.
Edit a workflow
- Go to .
- In the Workflows list view, select the workflow that you want to edit, then click Edit in the right side panel.
- When you have finished editing, click Publish then Publish Version <version number>.
Duplicate a version of a workflow
- Go to .
- In the Workflows list view, select the workflow that you want to duplicate, then select the Versions tab in the right side panel.
- Select the desired version from the list, then click Duplicate as Workflow from the menu button in the relevant row.
- Type a new name for your workflow, and update the fields and workflow activities as required.
Deactivate the published version of a workflow
The latest published version of a workflow is the active version. You can deactivate the published version manually. For example, you might want to do this if an Asset Type is deleted, and the workflow trigger was for that specific Asset Type.
- Go to .
- In the Workflows list view, click the menu button in the row of the workflow that you want to deactivate, then select Deactivate.
Delete a workflow
Remove a workflow from your system permanently.
- Go to .
- In the Workflows list view, click the menu button in the row of the workflow that you want to delete, then select Delete.
- Confirm that you want to delete the workflow.